Society of Midland Authors Awards Banquet

May 14, 2013

Jim Schwab, left, accepts the Society of Midland Authors’ Distinguished Service Award, presented by Tom Frisbie, right.

At it's annual awards banquet, The Society of Midland Authors honors its choices for the best books by Midwest authors published in 2012. The master of ceremonies for this year's benefit was Marc Kelly Smith, the founder of the Uptown Poetry Slam. Award winners also read from their works. 

A list of this year's winners can be found here

The Society, founded in 1915 by a group of authors including Hamlin Garland, Harriet Monroe and Vachel Lindsay, has given out annual awards since 1957. The juried competition is open to authors who live in, were born in, or have strong ties to Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota or Wisconsin.

Notable past winners have included Saul Bellow, Kurt Vonnegut, Studs Terkel, Gwendolyn Brooks, Mike Royko, Jane Smiley, Dempsey Travis, Leon Forrest, William Maxwell, Louise Erdrich, Scott Turow, Alex Kotlowitz, Aleksandar Hemon, Stuart Dybek and Roger Ebert.




Recorded live Tuesday, May 14, 2013 at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza.