Southern Illinois eligible for SBA loans after storms

March 23, 2012

Associated Press

Gov. Pat Quinn says nine southern Illinois counties struck by deadly storms are eligible for U.S. Small Business Administration aid.

Quinn's announcement came Thursday, a day after the state's appeal for aid from the Federal Emergency Management Agency was denied. Hundreds of homes in southern Illinois counties were damaged or destroyed by the Feb. 29 storms that killed seven people in Harrisburg, a town of 9,000 in Saline County.

The declaration makes low-interest loans available to homeowners, renters and businesses. Eligible counties include: Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Johnson, Pope, Saline, White and Williamson.