2009 Pritzker Architecture Prize Winner Announced | WBEZ
Skip to main content

Eight Forty-Eight

2009 Pritzker Architecture Prize Winner Announced

The 2009 Pritzker Prize, often called the Nobel Prize of architecture, went to Swiss Mr. Peter Zumthor. He's a minimalist, the son of a cabinet maker who incorporates sensory qualities into his work. Zumthor's most famous work is perhaps the Thermal Baths in Vals Switzerland. Zumthor is also responsible for Cloud Rock Wilderness Lodge in Moab, Utah. Eight Forty-Eight's architecture critic Ed Keegan explores the man and the award, which is of course presented by Chicago's very own Pritzkers.

Music Button: Rumah Sakit, “Wind & Wing”, from self-title album (Temporary Residence Limited)

Get the WBEZ App

Download the best live and on-demand public radio experience. Find out more.