Voices from Chernobyl | WBEZ
Skip to main content

Stories on Stage

Voices from Chernobyl

The Stories on Stage special, “Voices of Chernobyl,” is a remembrance of the April 26, 1986, Chernobyl nuclear power plant disaster. Journalist and author Svetlana Alexievich spent three years in the 1990s collecting stories from survivors of the disaster, which were published in her book, Voices From Chernobyl: The Oral History of a Nuclear Disaster. Selections from the book were presented in a special live performance for the 20th anniversary remembrance in 2006, and read by Chicago actors Brad Armacost, Laura T. Fisher, Caitlin Hart and David Pasquesi.

Get the WBEZ App

Download the best live and on-demand public radio experience. Find out more.