Step Away | WBEZ
Skip to main content

The Allusionist

Step Away

‘Step-‘, as in stepparents or stepchildren, originated in grief. Family structures have evolved, but are stepmothers now so tainted by fairytale associations with the word ‘wicked’ that we need new terminology?

Lore’s Aaron Mahnke stops by to describe the lovelessness, literary tropes and life expectancy around ‘step-‘.

There is more about this episode at http://theallusionist.org/step. There will also be a live discussion about it at http://Spoken.am/allusionist/step-away on 4th August, 8pm UK time, 3pm ET, 12pm PT; do drop by, and/or catch up afterwards.

Share your feelings about steprelations at http://twitter.com/allusionistshow and http://facebook.com/allusionistshow.

The Allusionist is a proud member of Radiotopia.fm for PRX.org.

Get the WBEZ App

Download the best live and on-demand public radio experience. Find out more.

CLOSE X