Meet Chicago's newest aldermen | WBEZ
Skip to main content

WBEZ Blogs

Meet Chicago's newest aldermen

Updated at 10:07 a.m.

Four incumbent aldermen appear headed for losses in Chicago’s runoff elections: the 6th Ward’s Freddrenna Lyle, the 24th Ward’s Sharon Denise Dixon, the 36th Ward’s John Rice and the 50th Ward’s Berny Stone. Rice was one of the council’s newest members, having been appointed just a year-and-a-half ago; Stone one its longest-serving.

(WBEZ/Sam Hudzik)

Those seats represent just about a quarter of the turnover in the council. Nine aldermen decided to call it quits come May 16th. And the new council will also include two aldermen who were only appointed in January. That all adds up to fifteen new(ish) faces, assuming last night’s election results hold.

The list below includes three Democratic ward committeemen, one wife of a Democratic ward committeeman and one brother of a Democratic ward committeeman. It includes one former alderman, and three offspring of former aldermen. It includes two members of the Illinois House, a former city inspector, a firefighter, a graphic designer and a caterer. It includes 12 men and 3 women. Here are the freshmen:

rdNew aldermanWho's that?Old aldermanWhy the change?
4Will BurnsState representativeShirley Newsome / Toni PreckwinkleNewsome was a placeholder after Preckwinkle became Cook County Board president.
6Roderick SawyerLawyer and son of former Chicago Mayor Eugene SawyerFreddrenna LyleSawyer appears to have defeated Lyle in April runoff.
13Marty QuinnDemocratic campaign worker, ally of ward committeeman Mike Madigan, the Illinois House speakerFrank OlivoOlivo announced his retirement after the November filing deadline, clearing the way for Quinn.
19Matt O'SheaRugai aide, 19th Ward committeemanVirginia RugaiRugai is retiring, and O'Shea won in February.
24Michael ChandlerMusician, former 24th Ward aldermanSharon Denise DixonChandler defeated Dixon in April runoff, reclaiming his old seat.
28Jason ErvinFormer Maywood village managerJason Ervin / Ed SmithErvin won in February, after being appointed in January to fill out the term of Smith, who retired in the fall.
36Nick SposatoChicago firefighter, unsuccessful 2007 aldermanic candidateJohn RiceIn the April runoff, Sposato defeated Rice, who was appointed to finish Bill Banks' term in 2009.
38Tim CullertonElectrician, retired city employee, son of the late Ald. Tom Cullerton, sister of ward committeeman P.J. CullertonTim Cullerton / Tom AllenCullerton won the April runoff, after being appointed in January to finish the term of Allen, who became a judge.
41Mary O'ConnorWard committeeman, owner of catering companyBrian DohertyO'Connor won the April runoff to replace Doherty, who is retiring.
43Michele SmithWard committeeman, former federal prosecutor, failed 2007 aldermanic candidateVi DaleyDaley is retiring, and Michele Smith won the April runoff.
45John ArenaOwner of small graphic arts businessPatrick LevarLevar is retiring, and Arena has a small lead in the runoff to replace him.
46James CapplemanSocial worker, unsuccessful 2007 aldermanic candidateHelen ShillerCappleman won the runoff to replace Shiller, who is retiring.
47Ameya PawarProgram assistant at Northwestern University’s emergency management officeEugene SchulterAfter Schulter announced retirement, Pawar beat the alderman’s chosen successor in February.
48Harry OstermanState representative, son of the late Ald. Kathy OstermanMary Ann SmithOsterman won in February to replace Smith, who is retiring.
50Debra SilversteinCertified public accountant, wife of state Sen. Ira Silverstein, who is the ward's committeemanBerny StoneSilverstein defeated Stone in the April runoff.

Not included in this table are three other aldermen who are (relatively) new. Each of them was reelected outright in February, avoiding a runoff.

  • In the summer of 2009, Mayor Richard Daley picked then-Cook County Commissioner Roberto Maldonado to replace the 26th Ward’s Billy Ocasio, who left the council to take a job in Gov. Pat Quinn’s administration.
  • Ald. Proco Joe Moreno was appointed by Daley in March of 2010 to replace 1st Ward Ald. Manny Flores, who also took a job with Quinn.
  • At the same time, Daley appointed then-state Rep. Deborah Graham to fill 29th Ward Ald. Ike Carothers’ term. Carothers lost his seat when he pleaded guilty to federal corruption charges.

Get the WBEZ App

Download the best live and on-demand public radio experience. Find out more.