Skip to main content


Chicago Gay and Lesbian Hall of Fame 2011 Induction Ceremony

Eleven individuals and four organizations will be inducted into the Chicago Gay and Lesbian Hall of Fame, a government-sponsored hall of fame that honors members of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) communities. The inductees were selected by a subcommittee composed of former inductees, which reviewed nominations submitted by members of the public.

The chosen nominees will be inducted at the Chicago Gay and Lesbian Hall of Fame’s annual ceremony. “It makes us proud that, even 20 years after our first ceremony, there are still important figures from the past and a constantly growing list of current Chicagoans whose accomplishments and community contributions merit being honored by the Hall of Fame,” said Israel Wright, associate director of the Hall of Fame Committee and secretary of the Friends of the Chicago Gay and Lesbian Hall of Fame.

The event will be free and open to the public. The reception is at 5:30 and the induction starts at 6:00.

Get the WBEZ App

Download the best live and on-demand public radio experience. Find out more.