Skip to main content


Secretive PAC endorses aldermanic candidates

A secretive political action committee seeking to be a major player in Chicago aldermanic races has released its endorsements for the Feb. 22 election.

For A Better Chicago PAC has raised $865,000 for aldermanic candidates. The PAC plugs itself as “an issue advocacy organization, working to ensure taxpayers and their families, businesses and the entire city are engaged and educated on the issues shaping the future of Chicago.” 

For A Better Chicago PAC isn’t telling who its donors are, and, under state law, it doesn’t have to. The chairman is Greg Goldner, founder of Resolute Consulting, a communications and public affairs firm. He managed Mayor Richard M. Daley’s reelection in 2003. He also managed mayoral contender Rahm Emanuel’s first congressional campaign. That’s fueled speculation that Emanuel is stealthily behind For A Better Chicago. Emanuel’s campaign says he isn’t.

According to state elections filings, the PAC has so far given $10,000 each to Ald. Deborah Graham, 29th; Ald. JoAnn Thompson, 16th; Ald. Anthony Beale, 9th; Ald. Latasha Thomas, 17th; and Ald. Carrie Austin, 34th.

Meanwhile, labor and business have also thrown their weight into aldermanic races that have several open seats. The Service Employees International Union plans to spend millions in the election cycle. The Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce PAC has also endorsed aldermanic candidates. Of the candidates endorsed by For A Better Chicago PAC, SEIU didn’t endorse Beale, Thompson or Austin. The chamber did not endorse Graham or Thompson.
In the 3rd and 4th wards all three groups endorsed Pat Dowell and Will Burns. But in another South Side ward, the 7th, Sandi Jackson only received an endorsement from For A Better Chicago PAC. The group did not endorse candidates in uncontested races such as in the 14th Ward, where Ald. Ed Burke has long served. In the 50th Ward, For A Better Chicago PAC and the SEIU endorsed challenger Debra Silverstein. The chamber chose longtime incumbent Bernard Stone.  
For a Better Chicago PAC endorses the following candidates for the February 22nd municipal election:
1st Ward          Proco “Joe” Moreno
2nd Ward          Genita Robinson
3rd Ward         Pat Dowell
4th Ward          William “Will” Burns
5th Ward          Leslie Hairston
6th Ward          No endorsement at this time
7th Ward          Sandi Jackson            
8th Ward          Michelle Harris                       
9th Ward          Anthony Beale                       
10th Ward        John Pope                               
11th Ward        James Balcer                          
12th Ward        No endorsement at this time
15th Ward        No endorsement at this time
16th Ward        JoAnn Thompson                   
17th Ward        Latasha Thomas
18th Ward        Lona Lane
19th Ward        Matt O’Shea
20th Ward        Willie Cochran
21st Ward        Howard Brookins
22nd Ward        No endorsement at this time
23rd Ward        Michael Zalewski
24th Ward        No endorsement at this time              
25th Ward        Danny Solis                
26th Ward        Roberto Maldonado
27th Ward        Walter Burnett
28th Ward        Jason Ervin     
29th Ward        Deborah Graham                    
30th Ward        Ariel Reboyras
32nd Ward        Scott Waguespack                             
34th Ward        Carrie Austin
35th Ward        No endorsement at this time                          
36th Ward        John Rice                               
37th Ward        Emma Mitts                           
38th Ward        Timothy Cullerton                  
39th Ward        Margaret Laurino                   
41st Ward        No endorsement at this time
43rd Ward        No endorsement at this time
45th ward         No endorsement at this time
46th Ward        No endorsement at this time
47th Ward        Tom O’Donnell
48th Ward        Harry Osterman
49th Ward        No endorsement at this time                          
50th Ward        Debra Silverstein

Get the WBEZ App

Download the best live and on-demand public radio experience. Find out more.