Skip to main content


The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame 2011 Induction Ceremony

Rick Kogan hosts The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame 2011 Induction Ceremony, presented in partnership with the Chicago Public Library.  The 2011 inductees include Cyrus Colter, Theodore Dreiser, Harriet Monroe, Mike Royko, Carl Sandburg, and Ida B. Wells. This evening of tributes not only pays homage to these six great writers but also celebrates Chicago’s spectacular literary heritage.

A distinguished lineup of participants includes Paul Durica, Reginald Gibbons, Mary Mitchell, Sterling Plumpp, Donna Seaman, and Marc Smith. Also participating are inductee family representatives including Tedi Dreiser Godard (Theodore’s grandniece), David Royko (Mike’s son), Donald Duster (Wells’ grandson), and Harriet Monroe Fetcher Johnson (Harriet’s great grandniece).

Recorded Tuesday, November 15, 2011 at the Harold Washington Library Center.

Get the WBEZ App

Download the best live and on-demand public radio experience. Find out more.