Skip to main content


The Election File candidates guide: 2010 throwdown

The Election File, your source for WBEZ coverage of the February primaries, is up and running. Check out our stories on featured Illinois races, and leave comments about who you support, and why. And with the election now less than a month away, we figured an update to our candidates guide was due. These are the final lists in a few key races, as shown by the websites of the Illinois State Board of Elections, the Cook County Clerk and the DuPage County Election Commission. We've added links the the candidates' websites so you can simultaneously (1) survey their positions on hot issues, while (2) discovering your politicians' favorite color schemes. U.S. Senate
Candidate Party Current Office or Job
John Arrington R Businessman, former Harvey alderman
Alexi Giannoulias D State Treasurer
David Hoffman D Former prosecutor, Chicago inspector general
Patrick Hughes R Attorney and real estate developer
Cheryle Robinson Jackson D President of the Chicago Urban League
LeAlan Jones G Freelance radio producer
Mark Kirk R Congressman
Don Lowery R Retired judge
Robert Marshall D Physician
Andy Martin R Internet publisher
Jacob Meister D Attorney
Kathleen Thomas R Historical researcher
10th Congressional
Candidate Party Current Office or Job
Beth Coulson R State Representative
Robert Dold R Business owner
Arie Friedman R Doctor
Dick Green R Business owner
Paul Hamann R Electrical engineer
Julie Hamos D State Representative
Elliot Richardson D Attorney
Dan Seals D Business consultant
Candidate Party Current Office or Job
Adam Andrzejewski R Former non-profit director
Bill Brady R State Senator
Kirk Dillard R State Senator
Dan Hynes D Comptroller
Andy McKenna R Former State GOP Chairman
Dan Proft R Publicist, commentator
Pat Quinn D Governor
Jim Ryan R Former Illinois Attorney General
Bob Schillerstrom R DuPage County Board Chairman
Rich Whitney G Attorney
Lieutenant Governor
Candidate Party Current Office or Job
Mike Boland D State Representative
Thomas Castillo D Union electrician
Scott Lee Cohen D Businessmen
Brad Cole R Mayor of Carbondale
Dennis Cook R School District 230 Board President
Don Crawford G High school guidance counselor
Rickey Hendon D State Senator
Terry Link D State Senator
Matt Murphy R State Senator
Jason Plummer R Small business owner
Don Tracy R Lawyer
Art Turner D State Representative
Randy White R Hancock County Board Member
Candidate Party Current Office or Job
Jim Dodge R Business executive, Orland Park trustee, Metra board member
William J. Kelly R TV producer / personality
Raja Krishnamoorthi D Lawyer, former Deputy State Treasurer
Clint Krislov D Attorney
David Miller D State Representative
Erika Schafer G Financial services director at non-profit
Judy Baar Topinka R Radio host, former state treasurer
Candidate Party Current Office or Job
Robin Kelly D Treasurer's chief of staff
Justin Oberman D Former homeland security official
Dan Rutherford R State Senator
Scott Summers G Attorney
Cook County Board President
Candidate Party Current Office or Job
Dorothy Brown D Clerk of Circuit Court of Cook County
John Garrido R Policeman and lawyer
Roger Keats R Securities Industry
Terrence O'Brien D President of Metropolitan Water Reclamation District
Toni Preckwinkle D Chicago Alderman
Todd Stroger D Cook County Board President
Tom Tresser G Community organizer, arts activist
Cook County Assessor
Candidate Party Current Office or Job
Joseph Berrios D Cook County Board of Review Commissioner
Ray Figueroa D Former judge, Chicago alderman
Robert Grota G
Robert Shaw D Inspector General for the Village of Dolton
Sharon Strobeck-Eckersall R Former Evanston Township Assessor
DuPage County Board Chair
Candidate Party Current Office or Job
Carole Cheney D Attorney
Dan Cronin R State Senator
Gary Grasso R Burr Ridge Mayor and attorney, member of DuPage County Board of Health
Debra Olson R DuPage County Board Member
Carole Pankau R State Senator

Get the WBEZ App

Download the best live and on-demand public radio experience. Find out more.