Trump Administration Announces Travel Ban 3.0 | WBEZ
Skip to main content


Trump Administration Announces Travel Ban 3.0

The Trump administration announced this week its third attempt to ban travel into the U.S. from predominately Muslim countries. “Travel Ban 3.0” is to take effect on Oct. 18. Federal judges blocked the first travel ban, citing it discriminated against Muslims. Last Sunday, a revision of the original ban expired. The current ban drops Sudan from the list, but keeps Somalia, Iran, Libya, Syria, and Yemen. New countries added were Venezuela, Chad, and North Korea. We’ll discuss the legalities of “Travel Ban 3.0” with Aziz Huq, the Frank and Bernice J. Greenberg professor of law at the University of Chicago Law School.

Get the WBEZ App

Download the best live and on-demand public radio experience. Find out more.