Five Jurors Selected For Jason Van Dyke Trial | WBEZ
Skip to main content


Five Jurors Selected For Jason Van Dyke Trial

Five jurors have been selected for the Jason Van Dyke trial. He’s the Chicago police officer charged with murder in 17-year-old Laquan McDonald’s death.

Judge Vincent Gaughan is questioning prospective jurors one-at-a-time in a room near his chambers. Prosecutors and defense attorneys also get to ask questions.

A handful of journalists and other members of the public are allowed to watch.

The judge is looking for 12 jurors and four alternates. The selection process is scheduled to resume Wednesday.

16 Shots podcast host Jenn White talked to WBEZ's Chip Mitchell about what comes next.

Get the WBEZ App

Download the best live and on-demand public radio experience. Find out more.