Skip to main content


More Chicago aldermen not seeking re-election

Yet another Chicago alderman has announced he will not run for office again in next year's municipal election. Alderman Ed Smith, 28th, has represented part of Chicago's West Side since the 1980s. But he says it's time to move on.

"Well, at some point in time everything ends except - well, even the world is going to end so some people want to move on and do other things," he said.

Smith isn't waiting until February's election to quit, though. He turned in his resignation effective November 30th. That will allow retiring Mayor Richard Daley to appoint a successor to the 28th Ward.

Another long-time alderman not returning is Patrick Levar, 45th, who's dealing with health problems.

In all, at least eight of the City Council's 50 aldermen have announced they will not seek re-election.

Alderman Toni Preckwinkle, 4th, was elected president of the Cook County Board of Commissioners, and Ald. Tom Allen, 38th, was appointed a circuit court judge.

Aldermen Ginger Rugai, 19th; Mary Ann Smith, 48th; Vi Daley, 43rd; and Helen Shiller, 46th, have all announced they are retiring.

Alderman Brian Doherty, 41st, has not turned in his paperwork to run for re-election after losing a campaign for state senate earlier this month.

But there could be an even bigger turnover among aldermen as voters go to the polls to elect a new mayor.

Get the WBEZ App

Download the best live and on-demand public radio experience. Find out more.