Your NPR news source

23rd Anniversary Studs Terkel Community Media Awards

SHARE 23rd Anniversary Studs Terkel Community Media Awards
23rd Anniversary Studs Terkel Community Media Awards

WEBZ reporters Natalie Moore and Chip Mitchell


We will honor media professionals who, like Studs Terkel, bring the voices of ordinary people to mainstream attention. We honor journalists that go the extra mile to report news “from the people who made Chicago and the nation, news that’s bottom up rather than up, down,” as Studs said at our 2007 awards event. “That’s what this is all about.”

This year’s award winners are: Mick Dumke, reporter for the Chicago Reader; Maria Hinojosa, anchor for PBS and Latino USA on National Public Radio; and Chip Mitchell, reporter for WBEZ Chicago Public Media. The 2012 Studs Terkel Scholarship winner is Daniel Castro, Columbia College television student.

Recorded Wednesday, March 12, 2012 at Columbia College Chicago’s Filmrow Cinema.

The Latest
Liesl Olson started as director at The Jane Addams Hull-House Museum earlier this month. She joins WBEZ to talk about her future plans for this landmark of Chicago history. Host: Melba Lara; Reporter: Lauren Frost
The city faces criticism for issuing red light camera tickets at intersections where yellow lights fall slightly short of the city’s 3-second policy. And many traffic engineers say the lights should be even longer.
There was a time Chicago gave New York a run for its money. How did we end up the Second City?
Union Gen. Gordon Granger set up his headquarters in Galveston, Texas, and famously signed an order June 19, 1865, “All slaves are free.” President Biden made Juneteenth a federal holiday last year.
As the U.S. celebrates the second federal holiday honoring Juneteenth, several myths persist about the origins and history about what happened when enslaved people were emancipated in Texas.